Where to eat in Goa

Top 7 restaurants in Goa; 

(In no particular order)

The German Bakery, Anjuna – The German Bakery is a hip, chilled place that serves great food and has fab service. The menu doesn’t include many Indian dishes but when you’ve been eating curry as much as I had this was exactly what you want to hear! The vibe is really pleasant and the the decor is done nicely too. Upon arrival into Goa I spent my first morning sitting here with my laptop eating delicious food and drinking super smoothies.  There is parking right outside and some stools which always had the most beautiful jewellery (especially their earrings)

Anand seafood bar, Saigon – Famous for its Goan fish thali’s, pay only 175 rs (less than £2) you can eat one of these bad boys. I was taken here and learnt that it is a very popular place that Indians travel far to visit. The fish was so yummy, i’m not sure if what the inside seating area is like as I was sitting outside, luckily under a fan, it was however almost too hot so I would recommend going for a late lunch to avoid the intense heat and rush of people…as I was leaving the line to sit down was fairly long (but worth the wait) ! There is bike parking here. Go here to experience local food at is best!

https---media-cdn.tripadvisor.com-media-photo-s-0a-24-6c-89-anand-seafood-bar-restaurant

SRI, Vagator – Sri was the perfect place to sit during the midday sun hours when I didn’t want to go back to my hotel. The place is done really nicely and there is so much plant greenery, flowers, fruits, yummy food and last but not least dogs! They also make killer cocktails! Going back to the dogs, i’m not sure who owns them or why they’re there but theres maybe 30 doggies who just spend their time chilling at Sri. They’re all super friendly and like laying under the tables. There is also a small book shelf here which I was very happy about as it gave me something to do that didn’t include loosing my mind to social media through their wifi. There wasn’t much parking space that I could see, since I was on a motorbike I didn’t have a problem parking just in their entrance.

Thalassa, Vagator – Possibly one of the most famous restaurants in India…and I can see why! Thalassa is a very classy place, overlooking the ocean and upholding a wonderful atmosphere. The white walls and the blue ocean reminded me a little bit of being on one of the islands in Greece! The food here is absolutely exquisite and they recommended the perfect wine to match my meal. The service was excellent and super smart. I felt like I was in some VIP restaurant…which isn’t a crazy thing to think since many Bollywood stars and other well known people often pay visits to Thalassa. Outside, the street food costs maybe 70 rs for a meal and inside its about 2,000 for two people….in terms of Indian pricing its not exactly cheap but in my home currency, that’s only £22 for 2 people to have a 5 star meal in a beautiful location..with drinks!! Not bad eyyy.

Silver Sands, Morjim – Silver Sands is a beach shack restaurant and accommodation. The restaurant is super chilled and the staff super friendly. The entire place is beautiful and leads down to a white sand beach which you can see from the restaurant as its only separated by some wooden steps. I remember their wine and cocktail selection more than the food if i’m being honest but still, the boys who work here made sure that we were enjoying ourselves so much so that we even decided to leave the hotel we were in and come stay here. If you’re wanting a ‘beach day’ then perhaps coming here in the morning would be a great solution, you can have food and drinks and take a sun bed on the beach. You will be given a towel, friendly faces to serve you and your stuff will be safe if you decide to swim or take a short walk.

Vaayu / Prana cafe, Mandrem – This little treasure was a super nice place to come across. Opposite the beach, this complex contained an exhibit of amazing psychedelic art around both the tables of the cafe and also upstairs in a awesome hang out space…there was even artists doing live canvas paintings in the moment. Accommodation is also available here and I didn’t see inside but they seemed to be based on the 7 chakras, this was pretty cool. I also saw a shop (possibly a surf shop) but I didn’t go inside as I was too busy admiring the artwork around me and then my absolutely delicious food!! The tofu scramble was the perfect breakfast!! It was so yummy that I had to order more…even though I didn’t need it! The smoothie bowls here are also an absolute winner! – Seriously you have to try them! ohh and they had some kind of elderflower lemonade drink which was AMAZING ( Thank me later )  One more thing : this place uses washable metal straws and is environmentally conscious, just one more reason to love it!

Organic Vibes, Arambol – Blackbean and mushroom rice noodles, Tofu steak, Veggie momos….DELICIOUS. The vibe here is chilled, dimmed lights, soft music (unless there is a live performance…which there nearly always is in the evenings) Pretty lighting and ok pricing. The only thing I didn’t like about this place was the lack of toilet..the nearest one is outside round the back and it was disgusting…not maintained at all…thankfully I went after eating as I would have been put off my food otherwise, but everything else…I rate well.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 18.13.23

 

So there you have it, the top 7 places to eat out whilst in Goa. Ofcourse that doesn’t mean that these are the only places to eat as there are many places you could go, you could even cook yourself a beautiful meal (buy the fish from the fish market) if your accommodation has a kitchen…or you could eat fresh fruits for breakfast. There are even gluten free options available at most of these places which is awesome!!

IMG_4762

Goan fish is absolutely divine, probably due to it being so fresh and then handled by experts until it reaches your plate. I remember being on an empty beach and someone brought me some street food, seafood biriyani, it was the best meal of my life! (Unfortunately  I do not know the name of the street food vendor it was purchased from so it isn’t on the list but I’m telling you so this you don’t dismiss the street food!!)

 

Have a great time in Goa guys!!

Love love love,

Chloe

Xo

Leave a comment